National Register of Historic Places
Richmond is home to nine sites which have been honored by placement
on the National Register of Historic Places. All these
sites have been officially recognized as having outstanding
historic value and significance. Richmond is unusual in
the number of such places within its borders, which stands
as a testament to the rich history of the town and the
fact that it is now becoming a tourist destination. More
sites have been nominated for inclusion on the Register,
and the number will undoubtedly grow in the future.
Located near Point
Molate, this castle-like structure, built in 1907,
was once advertised as the largest winery in the world.
The business went under during the Prohibition years and
the land was later taken over by the Navy. It is now owned
by the City of Richmond, which is considering options
for its development.
2. Hotel Carquinez
Later known as the Hotel Don, and now a senior center, the Hotel
Carquinez was built in 1926. Until the construction of
the new Civic Center in 1949, all the really important
business decisions took place in this hotel. It stands
at the corner of Harbour Way and Nevin Avenue, across
from the Kaiser Hospital.
3. East Brother Lighthouse |
in 1873 on a little island just west of Point San Pablo,
the light and fog horn were usually manned by family members
until well into the 20th century.
in 1968, the East Brother
Light Station is now operated as a bed-and-breakfast.
4. Alvarado Park
Once known as Grand Canyon Park, this area along Wildcat Creek
has long been a favorite place to picnic, dance, and listen
to music. The attractive stonework within its borders
was added by the WPA during the Depression years. The
“Chateau” in this photo still stands and is
now a private residence.
5. Point Richmond
The residents of Point
Richmond have thoughtfully preserved many of their
early structures, which date to 1910 or before.
The Indian statue in this photo, dedicated in 1909, disappeared
in the late 30s or early 40s under suspicious circumstances.
The local residents replaced it in 1984.
6. Kaiser Shipyard No. 3
Of the four Kaiser shipyards that operated during the
war years, only yard no. 3 remains. Its original five
concrete ship-building and launching basins still exist,
along with several war-time buildings. Located at the
end of Canal Blvd, the National Park Service has plans
to include it in their Rosie
the Riveter National Homefront Park.
7. The Ford Building
From 1931 to 1955, the Ford Motor Company built cars in Richmond in this huge building located at the foot of 10th Street (now Harbour Way).
Currently being restored by a private developer, it will also be the site of the Rosie the Riveter National Homefront Park’s visitor center and museum.
8. Red Oak Victory Ship
Currently berthed at Berth 6A at 1337 Canal Blvd., the SS Red Oak Victory Ship - AK235 is owned by the Richmond Museum Association. As the only remaining example of a ship built in Richmond during the Second World War (the Liberty Ship Jeremiah O’Brian was built on the east coast) she will occupy a central place in the Rosie the Riveter National Homefront Park.
9. Atchison Village
This collection of war-time housing is Richmond’s newest addition to the National Register.
Atchison Village is one of the very few examples that are left of the thousands of housing projects that were built to house workers streaming into Richmond between 1941 and 1945.